Office Wasteland

Bonjour people of the world.

After a shake-up in my professional career, the dust has settled somewhat. I’m in a new place, but the job is exactly the same. I do have a window, so I can actually see the outside world and get some natural light to balance out the fluorescents that I believe are sucking the life out of me.

Anyway, I have a job. I’m making money. I’m getting fat with baby. And in about 4 and a half months, I’ll be done with this place forever.

I feel like I’m floating with no purpose in my workplace, and even more frustrating is that I can’t do anything about it. I just have to sit and wait for some sort of direction from whoever wants to step up and be my boss.

Since I’ve been in this work purgatory for so long, I’m starting to think that I’m meant to learn something from this soul sucking experience. Maybe the universe is trying to tell me I’m not meant for this kind of life. The office life. The corporate office life. I just sit at my desk, stare at my computer screen, and watch the clock in between answering stupid emails and creating ridiculous spreadsheets. And I work in the entertainment industry. When I tell people what I do, they say “that’s so interesting!” But it isn’t.

If the universe is trying to tell me to get outta here, then I wish it would also tell me what it is I’m supposed to do about it until I get outta  here.

So universe, if you’ve got something to tell me – some sort of direction you want to point me in – spit it out already. I’d prefer not to waste my life away under the glow of fluorescents. Any help would be appreciated.

Leave a Reply

